Then Vs Than – Confusing words

Then has a number of different functions, but it is most commonly used as either an adverb or an adjective.

Using then as an adverb:

  • At that time.
    I lived in Cairo then.
    I finish work at 6. Call me then!
  • Next in time, space, or order; immediately afterward.
    We ate dinner then we cleaned up the kitchen.
    I read a lot of online reviews and then I chose the best hotel.
  • In addition; moreover; besides.
    I’m inviting 3 of my friends, but then there’s the children too.
    First you need to create an account, and then you can comment on posts.
  • In that case, accordingly.
    If you don’t dress warmly in the winter, then you might catch a cold.
    If we don’t get there soon, then we will miss the plane.

The use of then as an adjective is much more limited.

  • Being so at the time.
    My then best friend gave me some really bad advice.
    I signed the agreement with then Head manager.

Most of the uses of then have to do with time. It can mean next in time or at the time.

Than

Than is used for making comparisons between elements, objects, people, etc.

He is taller than I am.
She can can cook better than I can.
His car is faster than mine.

You can use than no matter what you are comparing, whether it be time, money, speed, etc.

Try to fill in these blanks:

1. He took less time _____ I took to get here.
2. She has more money _____ I have.
3. I need to do my homework _____ I can watch the movie.
4. Let’s talk first _____ we can decide what’s best.
5. I would rather eat _____ sleep.

(Ok, the last one is a trick question You could use either then or than, but both sentences would have different meanings. Do you know what the difference is?

Leave a comment